Awards and Honors

Our faculty, staff and students garnered significant recognition for their accomplishments over the past year. Here are a few highlights:

Math and physics double-major Mia de los Reyes.

Senior physics and math major Mia de los Reyes was one of only 15 students nationwide to win a Churchill Scholarship, which she will use to pursue a master’s degree in astronomy from the University of Cambridge.

Two students — Christopher Cooper and Vishwas Rao — received the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship, awarded to outstanding undergraduates preparing for careers as mathematicians, scientists and engineers.

Senior history major Micah Khater’s paper on civil rights struggles during the Jim Crow era was selected as the best undergraduate history paper in the state by the North Carolina Literary and Historical Association.

Joseph DeSimone, William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, received the National Medal of Technology and Innovation from the U.S. Department of Commerce. DeSimone also received the inaugural Kabiller Prize in Nanoscience and Nanomedicine from Northwestern University.

Jay Baliga, Distinguished University Professor of electrical and computer engineering, was inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame.

Dr. Rodolphe Barrangou in the CRISPR lab on Centennial campus.

Rodolphe Barrangou, associate professor of food science, was a 2016 winner of the Warren Alpert Foundation Prize, given in honor of research that holds great promise of changing our understanding of or ability to treat disease. Barrangou also won a 2016 Canada Gairdner International Award, given to biomedical scientists who have contributed to increased understanding of human biology and disease.

Trudy Mackay, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished University Professor of biological sciences, received the 2016 Wolf Prize in Agriculture, given to outstanding scientists for achievements in the interest of humankind.

Kenneth Swartzel, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor Emeritus, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

MIT Technology Review named Zhen Gu, an assistant professor in NC State’s biomedical engineering program, as one of its “35 Innovators Under 35” for his work on developing novel drug-delivery systems for treating cancer and diabetes.

Eleven NC State researchers received the National Science Foundation’s prestigious Early Career Award in fields spanning chemistry, civil engineering, electrical and computer engineering, mathematics, materials science and engineering, mechanical and aerospace engineering, and statistics.

Dr. Alper Bozkurt does his research on Centennial Campus in EBII.

Alper Bozkurt, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been named one of Popular Science’s “Brilliant 10” for his work establishing the foundations of the “Internet of bionic things.”

Statistician Alyson Wilson was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Susan Nutter, vice provost and director of libraries, was named the 2016 Academic/Research Librarian of the Year by the American Library Association.

Forbes magazine named athletics director Debbie Yow one of the 25 most powerful women in sports.