Chancellor's Report 2012 Awards


NC State faculty and students are consistently recognized for outstanding leadership, scholarship and service. Here are just a few of the many honors attained in 2012.

  • B. Jayant Baliga, professor of electrical and computer engineering, received the North Carolina Award for Science, the state’s highest civilian honor.

  • David H. Ley, professor of poultry health management, received the Phibro Animal Health Excellence in Poultry Research Award.

  • Jean Beagle Ristaino, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor of Plant Pathology, was named a Jefferson Science Fellow.

  • Fred Gould, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor of Entomology, received the O. Max Gardner Award, the top honor given to faculty by the University of North Carolina Board of Governors.

  • Joe DeSimone, William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, was elected into the National Academy of Sciences.

  • Chih-Hao Chang, assistant professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, was one of only 10 faculty members nationwide to receive an Early Career Faculty Award from NASA.

  • Stephen Reynolds, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor of Physics, received the UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, the system’s most prestigious award for teaching excellence.

  • Lori Foster Thompson, professor of psychology, was selected by the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology to be one of the organization’s five representatives to the United Nations.

  • Registered dietitian Lisa Eberhart received the Governor’s Award for Excellence, the highest honor that the state of North Carolina bestows upon a state employee.

  • Tim Ellis, a graduate student in fisheries, wildlife and conservation biology, received the Walter B. Jones Sr. Award from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

  • Students Richard Deans, Ian Hill, Heidi Klumpe and Brinda Monian received Goldwater Scholarships.

  • Students Brian Schuster and Gretchen Stokes received Udall Scholarships.

  • Students Brian Gaudio, Michael Habersetzer, Andy Park and Kyle Thompson won the Walt Disney Imagineering ImagiNations Design Contest.

  • Environmental engineering graduate student Tate Rogers received a water and sanitation grant from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation to improve sanitation in developing countries.