Chemistry Newsletter 2021


Interim Department Head Gavin Williams giving a speech
From the Interim Department Head
Gavin Williams, professor and interim head of the Department of Chemistry, provides an update on activities in the department.
Read More »


Kenneth Hanck Grayscale
Remembering Kenneth Hanck

The Department of Chemistry remembers Kenneth W. Hanck, a remarkable teacher, researcher and department head.

Michael Bereman Headshot B/W
Celebration of Michael Bereman

The Deparment of Chemistry bids farewell to colleague and ALS warrior Michael Bereman.

Ed Bowden
Edmond Bowden Retires

Join us in thanking and congratulating Ed Bowden for his dedication and leadership as department head over the last six years, and for his work as an instructor, researcher, director of graduate programs, and colleague over the last 37 years!

Loulou Batta Smiling next to a brick wall
Meet Loulou Batta

Loulou Batta, a recent Chemistry graduate and Distinguished Goodnight Award recipient, was awarded the 2021 Mathews Medal.

Students head from the Brickyard in the direction of Hillsborough Street on a pleasant November 2019 afternoon. Photo by Becky Kirkland.
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

The Department of Chemistry at North Carolina State University values and promotes diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice.

Josh Pierce with a student in the lab
Chemistry of Life

A new program led by the College of Sciences is bringing together researchers from across NC State to focus on innovative research and training at the intersection of chemistry and life sciences.

Aerial view of a group of members of the chemistry department carrying chemistry symbols signs in the brickyard
The Department by the Numbers - 2021

The Department of Chemistry achievements are summarized in numbers.

A representation of a red wolf sketched with chemistry symbols
Innovation in Chemistry: A "Think and Do" Tour of the Department

Come join us for a “Think and Do” tour of the Chemistry Department at NC State University.

Chemistry Researchers Receive $3.3M as Part of New Solar Energy Center »
Jeremiah Feducia: 2020-2021 Outstanding Teaching Award Recipient »
Maria Gallardo-Williams: Another Achievement »
Caroline Proulx: NSF Career Award Recipient »
Laura Sremaniak: 2020-2021 Provost's Faculty Fellow »
Thomas Theis Receives the 2021 Goodnight Early Career Innovators Award »
Chemistry at Envisioning Research Contest »
#ChemFlashPack: A focus on Journal Covers - James Martin (1998) »
A Celebration of the Classes of Fall 2020 and Spring 2021 »
Undergraduate Alumnus Spotlight: Vishwas Rao »
Undergraduate Student Spotlight: Linda Ung »
Staff Spotlight: Marcie Belisle »
They’ve Got Chemistry: A Popular App Impacts Student Learning Across Lab Sections »
Give to the Chemistry Department Enhancement Fund »
Share Your News »
Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter Instagram Instagram LinkedIn LinkedIn